by J-MUSIC Ensemble

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $19.99 USD  or more


Layer Cake 06:20


The long awaited and highly anticipated album has finally arrived - our Persona 5 Jazz tribute, "METAGROOVE"! Nearly 3 years ago, we set out on a journey to not only explore the music of Persona 5, but bring out the true potential of this music. The world of Persona 5 challenges its characters to dig into the deepest parts of themselves and face their fears, and from this place comes the most powerful manifestations of their souls. This is no different from what it means to play jazz - and we took this concept to expound further on the brilliant ideas that composer Shoji Meguro laid down for us to call from today.

In addition to the all-star cast of the J-MUSIC Ensemble band, this album features a conclave of some of the world's greatest multi-genre musicians to create the best music possible: Sapphire, Mohmega, Adam Neely, Jonah Moss, Kento Iwasaki, Karlea Lynné, and Ruby Choi. Of course, no great tribute to Persona 5 would be without homage to its artwork. It's our honor to present the beautiful, provocative, and ground-breaking album artwork created by one of the greatest Persona artists in the world: blazpu! We have truly become "Persona-fied" with his rendition of us in the world of Persona, as the de facto band of the Phantom Thieves.

This entire project would not be possible in the slightest without the help of our generous backers over on Indiegogo. If you're reading this right now, we want to thank you all so much, from the bottom of our hearts, for allowing us to produce and deliver our passion to the world. Your undying love and support has kept us going through the toughest of times, and we promise from here on out, we'll continue to deliver nothing but the best music we can possibly make, and beyond. We truly hope you enjoy this album as much as we enjoyed making it!


released September 28, 2020

Patrick Bartley - Alto Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone
Max Boiko - Trumpet
Toby Ekpunobi - Trombone
Khrys Williams - MIDI Synth, Rap, Percussion
Sean Richey - Guitar
Matt Wong - Nord Keyboard, Fender Rhodes
Brad Miller - Electric Bass
Jongkuk "JK" Kim - Drums

Mohmega - Lead Guitar (Track 1)
Sapphire - Vocal (Track 2)
Karlea Lynné - Vocal
Ruby Choi - Vocal
Jonah Moss - Trumpet (Track 2, 3)
Adam Neely - Bass
Norman Edwards - Drums
Kento Iwasaki - Koto

Artwork - blazpu (

Nolan Thies - Recording/Mixing Engineer
Dev Avidon - Mastering Engineer
Executive Producer - Patrick Bartley

Recorded on October 8, 2019 and October 9, 2019 at Bunker Studios in Brooklyn, NY.

© 2020 J-MUSIC Ensemble


all rights reserved



J-MUSIC Ensemble New York, New York

"J-Pop meets jazz." What does that really mean? The J-MUSIC Ensemble is a jazz-rooted, instrumental band that is devoted to bringing new perspectives to modern Japanese music. Whether you knew it or not, we all grew up hearing these sounds - now it's time to give them the respect they deserve. - #jmusicthefuture ... more

contact / help

Contact J-MUSIC Ensemble

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like J-MUSIC Ensemble, you may also like: